Casual Fridays


So as you know, I am new to this whole blogging thing. At first, I wanted to blog about psychology three times a week, if not more. Then, I realized how long it takes me just to write out one post, and I’ve since decided to publish new content every Monday and Wednesday (and I plan on sticking to that!). But there is just something, something about blogging that makes me want to write about life; my life, life in general and maybe even the lives of others. Sadly this doesn’t really “fit in” with the psychology theme I have going. So I have decided to start what I’m calling “Casual Fridays” , a post once a week that could be about anything.  I hope you like it.

The Day Will and I Spit FIRE

Will and I went to high school together, and I consider him one of my few best friends. More than a best friend though, he is my partner in crime. Potato cannons, explosions, the police (not the band), -69.5 degrees Fahrenheit, science, shenanigans and of course fire can all be “tags” for our friendship. One day I will die, and it will most likely be his fault (that’s not true, it’ll be my fault, but he’ll be the one egging me on).

Anywho, this post is about the day we took pictures of us spitting fire.

But first, a public-safety announcement:

DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME

(or anywhere else for that matter)

Especially at home though, because it’s breathing fire, and you’ll somehow catch your drapes on fire and everyone knows that once the drapes catch your house is done for.

What we used:

  • Corn Starch
  • A Stick
  • A Rag
  • Lighter Fluid (Rubbing Alcohol works too)
  • Seltzer Water

SOOOOO blowing fire is really easy, the hard part is getting it on film. All you do is wrap a sliver of the rag around the stick and tie it. Moisten the rag with the lighter fluid and set it ablaze. Word to the wise, always make sure your back is to the wind, even if it’s just a slight breeze (unless you want to lose your eyebrows). So all you have to do is take a big mouthful of the cornstarch hold the stick about a foot away and blow the powdery stuff into the flame. Don’t breath in trough your mouth, it’ll feel like you’re choking on cement. Also once your are done, the best way to get rid of the corn starch that has permanently stuck itself to the inside of your mouth is to gargle with seltzer.

But like I said, the hardest part is taking the picture.

This is Will by the way.

I took the picture a nano second too early, if you can time it out right, it should look like this:

Cool huh?

Just do yourself a favor and don’t make an idiotic face when blowing the stuff out.

Me (hahaha)

At least the fire looks cool.

This one is my favorite because of the fireball

SO that was my first Casual Friday post. I plan on having others, but of course if you’ve made it this far so, I do care about what you think.

Thanks for reading! More psych stuff to come on Monday.

Image Credit

Jeans: Ale_Paiva

Sign: ilco

About thepsychconvert

I have a few passions and a hundred hobbies. I often wish there was more time in the day.
This entry was posted in Casual Fridays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Casual Fridays

  1. SweetB says:

    Oh em gee. This made me literally laugh out loud! You make me nervous about my two boys, who seem to find all sorts of trouble to get into.

    Margie

  2. hahaha don’t let them anywhere near me. I could teach them sooooo much.

  3. Hanna Wilbur says:

    This is tooooo cool for me 😛 hahahahah….
    Great one.

  4. Will says:

    And don’t dump the cornstarch on yourself. You may look a bit like a crack head.

Leave a Reply

