I Aim to Convert You


(Many of my family members speak in a heavy Italian accent)

Aunt “So, what you go to school for?”

Me “Psychology”

Aunt “Ooohhhhh good for you! The world full of the crazy people, God bless, I’ll be your first costumer!”

Sometimes I’ll correct my family “oh no no, I’m going into research, I want to be a professor”, but most of the time, it takes every fiber of my being to keep me from lashing out and breaking things.

Debunked Myth #1 – Not every psychologist becomes a therapist.

Psychology as a field is greatly misunderstood, and what’s worse is that many people think that living for more than twenty years grants them special insight into human behavior, and subsequently have trouble understanding why I’m going to school for something that seems to innately obvious.

Debunked Myth #2 – A Psychologist and a Psychiatrist are not the same thing. (I wanted to get that one out of the way right away)

The worst is when I come home for winter or summer break. Some of my friends will fight me tooth and nail, challenging the results of every study I tell them about. They claim that psychologists manipulate results, real world applications cannot be generalized and even going as far as dubbing psychology a pseudo science!

The worst of them all is my friend Abe (pronounced like Abby even though he is a boy). His blog, Sports for Real Sports Fans can be found here, however he is a horrible person, so I don’t recommend giving him any traffic. Anyway, he is the worst of them all, ceaselessly bashing my highest passion every chance he gets. He has inspired me to write this, collections of some of the coolest, thought-provoking psychological experiments ever performed. I hope to spread the belief of psychology to people like Abe, and for those who already believe, I hope to present the material in a way for anyone to understand.

I will start with what is arguably the most famous social psych experiments ever conducted: The Stanford Prison Experiment.

About thepsychconvert

I have a few passions and a hundred hobbies. I often wish there was more time in the day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Aim to Convert You

  1. I was also a psych major so I know where you’re coming from. I like what you’re doing here. Keep up the good work 🙂

  2. Hanna Wilbur says:

    I really like that you are so passionate about psychology. I was almost gonna take psychology but took communications instead. But, turns out that most of my best friends are in the psychology field. I guess, if you love something, it never goes far from you :).

    Keep up with the good (and simple–for the layman to understand) articles.

  3. Thanks!
    Yea this blog is aimed for people who have an interest in psychology but have little to know experience. If you have any constructive criticism feel free to email me, and if you would like to see a post about a particular topic just let me know!

    I’ll be checking out your God post as soon as I can.

    Johnny

  4. predederva says:

    The real question I have for you is not whether or not psychology is a real science, but if you can somehow make a living out of it =P . Good luck to you though. It seems very interesting, and at least you’re going to do what you love.

Leave a Reply

